The Ghent Altarpiece in the Saint Bavo Cathedral fires the imagination. During the restoration that will take five years, the story of the Ghent Altarpiece will be told at no fewer than three different locations in Ghent: the Saint Bavo Cathedral, the Museum of Fine Arts (MSK) and the Provincial Cultural Centre of the Carmelite Convent.
The audacious theft of the ‘Just Judges’ panel in 1934 still regularly makes the news. At the STAM City Museum there is a room dedicated to it and a bicycle route that starts near to the cathedral leads to Wetteren, where the alleged thief Arsène Goedertier lived.
Visit these locations and in the meantime discover 15th century Ghent. How would Ghent have looked in Van Eyck’s era? And what is left of that city today? Discover it on a walk through the city or a bicycle route.
This guide was commissioned by the Provincial Council of East Flanders and was created by the Patrimony Department of the Province of East Flanders in collaboration with the East Flanders Tourist Board.